White medical pills.

Legal Principles

The work of securPharm must be viewed in context with a series of measures required by the European Union to protect patients from falsified pharmaceuticals in the legal supply chain. The legal foundation for this are the Falsified Medicines Directive 2011/62/EU as well as the Delegated Regulation (EU) 2016/161. With the publication of the Delegated Regulation in the Official Journal of the European Journal on 9 February 2016, the implementation period for building a system for authentication began in Germany and will end on 9 February 2019. Since 9th February 2019, pharmaceutical companies may only release pharmaceuticals subject to verification that bear two safety features. Pharmacies may only dispense these pharmaceuticals to patients after successful authentication.

The EU-Commission points out expressly the legal obligations of all stakeholders regarding the implementation of savety features under the Falsified Medicines Directive 2011/62/EU in the letter of 18 October 2018.

For more information of the EU-Commission see:

Products in scope

Pursuant to Article 43 of the Delegated Regulation, the higher federal authorities must provide information as to what pharmaceuticals must bear the safety features according to Article 54 lit. o of Directive 2001/83/EC and the Delegated Regulation (EU) 2016/161. The classifications have been made and can be viewed via the public part of the AMIS database. Furthermore, the prescription drugs that were exempt from the obligation were also classified in the AMIS database.  Pharmaceutical companies can check the classification and contact Department 1 at the German Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices (BfArM) via email if there are discrepancies. The contact is Michael Horn (1(at)bfarm.de).

Additional national legislation

In July 2018, amendments were made to the German Pharmaceutical Trading Directive (AM-HandelsV). The amendments published in the Bundesgesetzblatt No. 24 of 12 July 2018 refer to the verification of safety features through pharmaceutical wholesalers. Im Juli 2018 gab es Änderungen in der Arzneimittelhandelsverordnung (AM-HandelsV).

For further information by the German government, please visit:

White medical pills.

Gesetzliche Grundlagen

Die Arbeit von securPharm steht im Kontext einer Reihe von Maßnahmen, die die Europäische Union vorgegeben hat, um Patienten gegen gefälschte Arzneimittel in der legalen Lieferkette zu schützen. Gesetzliche Grundlage dafür sind die Fälschungsschutzrichtline 2011/62/EU sowie die delegierte Verordnung (EU) 2016/161. Mit der Veröffentlichung der delegierten Verordnung am 9. Februar 2016 im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Union  hat  die Umsetzungsfrist für den Aufbau des Systems zur Echtheitsprüfung begonnen, die in Deutschland zum 9. Februar 2019 endet. Ab 9. Februar 2019 dürfen pharmazeutische Unternehmen verifizierungspflichtige Arzneimittel nur noch mit zwei Sicherheitsmerkmalen für den Verkehr freigegeben. Apotheken dürfen diese nur nach erfolgreicher Echtheitsprüfung an den Patienten abgeben.

Die EU-Kommission weist alle Beteiligten der Lieferkette im Schreiben vom 18. Oktober 2018 ausdrücklich auf ihre rechtlichen Pflichten bei der Umsetzung der Fälschungsschutzrichtlinie hin.

Weitere Informationen der EU finden Sie unter:

Klassifikation betroffener Arzneimittel

Gemäß delegierter Verordnung Artikel 43 müssen die Bundesoberbehörden Informationen zur Verfügung stellen, welche Arzneimittel nach Artikel 54 Buchstabe o der Richtlinie 2001/83/EG und der Delegierten VO (EU) 2016/161 die Sicherheitsmerkmale tragen müssen. Diese Klassifikationen sind erfolgt und können über den öffentlichen Teil der AMIS Datenbank eingesehen werden. Weiter wurden auch die verschreibungspflichtigen Arzneimittel, die von der Verpflichtung ausgenommen sind, in der AMIS-Datenbank klassifiziert.  Pharmazeutische Unternehmen können die Klassifizierung prüfen und bei Unstimmigkeiten die Abteilung 1 im BfArM per E-Mail kontaktieren. Ansprechpartner ist Michael Horn (1(at)bfarm.de).

Weiter nationale Reglungen

Im Juli 2018 gab es Änderungen in der Arzneimittelhandelsverordnung (AM-HandelsV). Die im Bundesgesetzblatt Nr. 24 vom 12.07.2018 veröffentlichten Änderungen, beziehen sich auf die Überprüfung der Sicherheitsmerkmale durch pharmazeutische Großhändler.

Weitere Informationen des Bundes finden Sie unter: