nvs

National Verification System

System

According to the requirements of the Falsified Medicines Directive, the securPharm system is based on the end-to-end principle during which both ends of the supply chain help ensure safety. The one end is the marketing authorisation holder who markets pharmaceuticals. The other end represents the place where pharmaceuticals are dispensed, i.e. a community pharmacy.

The German verification system is embedded in a European network in order to also safeguard patient protection across national borders. The EU hub, which is operated by the European Medicines Verification Organisation (EMVO) facilitates the data exchange between the EU, the EEA and Switzerland.

Data privacy

For data privacy reasons, the securPharm system works with separate systems for pharmaceutical companies (database system of the pharmaceutical industry) and the places dispensing pharmaceuticals (pharmacy system). Verification inquiries are bundled via the pharmacy system and directed to the database system of the pharmaceutical industry in anonymised form.

Verification process

During the production process, the marketing authorisation holder affixes the safety features to each pharmaceutical package. The data of the unique identifier (serial number, product code, batch number, expiry date) are applied to the pack in clear text and in the form of the Data Matrix Code and uploaded to the centralised database of the pharmaceutical industry. Before the pharmaceutical is dispensed to the patient, the Data Matrix Code is scanned for authentication, thereby reconciling the pack data with the data in the system. The package status is reported back to the pharmacy, i.e. whether the unique identifier is active or has already been deactivated. If the latter is the case (e.g. because the package with this identifier was already dispensed), the pack must not be dispensed to the patient. The incident will subsequently be investigated. If the identifier is active, the pharmaceutical can be dispensed.

How does the system provide protection from falsified medicines?

The European protective system makes falsified medicines in the legal supply chain more easily recognizable, since each serial number can only be used once. Furthermore, the serial number in combination with the product code and the batch number also allows tracing back where a falsified medicine entered the legal supply chain. In the case of stolen goods, the serial number can be locked in the system so that the merchandise can no longer be dispensed.

nvs

Nationales System

System

Gemäß Fälschungsschutzrichtlinie basiert das securPharm-System auf dem Ende-zu-Ende-Prinzip, bei dem die beiden Enden der Logistikkette zur Absicherung dienen. Das eine Ende ist der pharmazeutische Unternehmer, der ein Arzneimittel in Verkehr bringt. Das andere Ende ist die Abgabestelle, etwa eine öffentliche Apotheke.

 

Das deutsche Verifikationssystem ist eingebettet in ein europäisches Netzwerk, um auch grenzüberschreitend den Patientenschutz zu gewährleisten. Der EU-Hub, betrieben von der European Medicines Verification Organisation (EMVO), sorgt für den Datenaustausch zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten der EU, des EWR und der Schweiz.

 

Datenschutz

Aus Gründen des Datenschutzes arbeitet das securPharm-System mit getrennten Systemen für pharmazeutischen Unternehmen (Datenbanksystem der pharmazeutischen Industrie) und die Arzneimittel-abgebenden Stellen (Apothekensystem). Verifikationsanfragen werden über das Apothekensystem gebündelt und anonymisiert an das Datenbanksystem der pharmazeutischen Industrie weitergeleitet.

 

Ablauf der Verifikation

Während des Produktionsprozesses versieht der pharmazeutische Unternehmer jede Packung eines Arzneimittels mit den Sicherheitsmerkmalen. Die Daten des individuellen Erkennungsmerkmals (Seriennummer, Produktcode, Chargennummer, Verfalldatum)  werden in Klarschrift und im Data Matrix Code auf die Packung aufgebracht und in die zentrale Datenbank der pharmazeutischen Industrie hochgeladen. Zur Echtheitsprüfung wird der Data Matrix Code vor der Abgabe an den Patienten gescannt. Dadurch werden die Daten der Packung mit den Daten im System abgeglichen. Der Status der Packung wird an die Apotheke zurückgemeldet, d.h. ob das individuelle Erkennungsmerkmal aktiviert oder bereits deaktiviert wurde. Ist letzteres der Fall – etwa weil die Packung mit diesem Merkmal bereits abgeben wurde – darf die Packung nicht an den Patienten abgegeben werden. Der Vorfall wird dann überprüft. Ist das Erkennungsmerkmal aktiviert, darf das Arzneimittel abgegeben werden.

 

Wie schützt das System gegen Fälschungen?

Das europäische Schutzsystem macht Arzneimittelfälschungen in der legalen Lieferkette leichter erkennbar, da jede Seriennummer nur einmal genutzt werden kann. Über die Seriennummer in Kombination mit dem Produktkode und der Chargennummer ist außerdem rück-verfolgbar, wo ein gefälschtes Arzneimittel in die legale Lieferkette eingetreten ist. Im Falle von gestohlener Ware kann die Seriennummer im System gesperrt werden, so dass die Ware kann dann nicht mehr abgegeben werden kann.